Loch of Leys Path Officially Opened

A new 1.7km multi-user path at the Loch of Leys has been officially opened.

The creation of the path was led by Leys Charitable Trust and Leys Estate with the aim of providing a fully accessible path network for the local community and visitors to enjoy whilst also protecting the future of this important site.

Joining members of the Burnett family for the opening were representatives from local community groups as well as pupils from Crathes, Hill of Banchory and Banchory Primary Schools.

Situated on Leys Estate, the Loch of Leys lies to the north of Banchory and is a site of significant ecological and habitat value. The opening marked the completion of the first phase in a long-term plan to address the preservation and restoration of the physical, biological, cultural and historical features of the Loch of Leys area.

The Loch was the first home of the Burnett of Leys family when they settled in Deeside in 1323. The remains of the Crannog, which was inhabited until 1550, can still be seen today as well as the site of an early 20th Century rifle range which was used during the First and Second World Wars.

Information panels around the circular route give visitors an insight into the history of the site as well as the many species which can be regularly seen in the area.

The path was part-funded through the Scottish Government’s Improving Public Access Fund and delivered in partnership with CR Contracting Limited.

The Leys Charitable Trust was established in 2006 with the aspiration to preserve and enhance the unique characteristics of the Loch.